Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Four QBs, one receiver named finalists for NFL MVP award

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes, Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts, Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow, Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson and Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen were named finalists for the NFL’s Most Valuable Player award, the league announced Wednesday.

Mahomes, the 2018 NFL MVP, threw for 5,250 yards and 41 touchdowns and added  358 rushing yards. He set an NFL record with 5,614 yards of total offense, leading the Chiefs to another AFC West title and the conference’s best record.

In his third season, Hurts solidified his status as a franchise quarterback, completing 67 percent of his passes for 3,701 yards with 22 touchdowns and six interceptions, adding 760 rushing yards and 13 scores. The Eagles finished with the NFC’s best record, despite Hurts missing two games with an injured shoulder. 

Jefferson, a first-team All-Pro selection, led the league in targets (184), catches (128), and receiving yards per game (106.4). His 1,809 receiving yards also led the league and scored eight touchdowns for the Vikings. No receiver has ever won the NFL MVP.

Follow every game: Latest NFL Scores and Schedules

Here are the finalists for the other awards:

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Brock Purdy, quarterback, San Francisco

Kenneth Walker, III, running back, Seattle

Garrett Wilson, wide receiver, New York Jets

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Aiden Hutchison, defensive end, Detroit

Ahmad Gardner, cornerback, New York Jets

Tariq Woolen, cornerback, Seattle

Coach of the Year

Brian Daboll, New York Giants

Sean McDermott, Buffalo

Doug Pederson, Jacksonville

Kyle Shanahan, San Francisco

Nick Sirianni, Philadelphia

Assistant Coach of the Year

Ben Johnson, offensive coordinator, Detroit

DeMeco Ryans, defensive coordinator, San Francisco

Shane Steichen, offensive coordinator Philadelphia

Offensive Player of the Year

Tyreek Hill, wide receiver, Miami

Jalen Hurts, quarterback. Philadelphia

Justin Jefferson, wide receiver Minnesota

Patrick Mahomes, quarterback, Kansas City

Defensive Player of the Year

Nick Bosa, defensive end, San Francisco 

Chris Jones, defensive tackle, Kansas City

Micah Parsons, linebacker, Dallas

Comeback Player of the Year

Saquon Barkley, running back, New York Giants

Christian McCaffrey, running back, San Francisco

Geno Smith, quarterback, Seattle

When are the winners announced?

As voted on by 50 sportswriters who regularly cover the league and handed out by The Associated Press, the winners of that award and others will be announced during the NFL Honors telecast set to air on Feb. 9 at 9 p.m. ET on NBC, Peacock, and NFL Network.

Man of the Year

The NFL Man of the Year award winner will also be announced during the awards ceremony.

This post appeared first on USA TODAY

    You May Also Like


    The 2023 NTT IndyCar season kicks off this weekend in Florida following an offseason of change in the paddock. Eight full-time IndyCar drivers —...


    Four division titles — AFC East, NFC East, AFC South and NFC South — will be decided in NFL Week 18. In all, 11...


    Kalen DeBoer says Nick Saban will retain ‘100% access’ to Alabama football program, with DeBoer’s blessingNick Saban wasn’t over Kalen DeBoer’s shoulder at introductory...


    The Kansas City Chiefs and Miami Dolphins have weathered various storms throughout the regular season, from injuries to inconsistent play, but on Saturday, both...

    Disclaimer:, its managers, its employees, and assigns (collectively “The Company”) do not make any guarantee or warranty about what is advertised above. Information provided by this website is for research purposes only and should not be considered as personalized financial advice. The Company is not affiliated with, nor does it receive compensation from, any specific security. The Company is not registered or licensed by any governing body in any jurisdiction to give investing advice or provide investment recommendation. Any investments recommended here should be taken into consideration only after consulting with your investment advisor and after reviewing the prospectus or financial statements of the company.

    Copyright © 2023 | All Rights Reserved